rekrotx.blogg.se

How to install epson 3880 printer mac
How to install epson 3880 printer mac









  1. HOW TO INSTALL EPSON 3880 PRINTER MAC HOW TO
  2. HOW TO INSTALL EPSON 3880 PRINTER MAC FULL
  3. HOW TO INSTALL EPSON 3880 PRINTER MAC PRO

The part that you normally buy on line for $175 to fix the problem is the complete ink feed system, empty cartridge holder, empty ink feed lines, empty dampers.

HOW TO INSTALL EPSON 3880 PRINTER MAC FULL

When I picked it up, I was told that they were able to keep the the ink system full and undrained. The Service Center told me that they would do their best to retain as much ink in the lines as possible, as there is apparently quiet a lot of it that can potentially be lost during the fix. I do recall that you can do the fix with ink in the sytem so, it isn't necessary to recharge it. I don't recall coming across anything that referred to that having to be done. In my view, I would have been better off buying a new printer, even though the 3880 originally cost me $1,300. I believe that the new Epson printers come loaded with new ink cartridges (at least my 3880 did when I originally bought it). Total approximate cost of the venture, including new ink and all ran me about $900. But, having just spent $499 on all new ink, I went forward with the fix. Had I known this at the beginning of my adventure, I would have junked the printer and bought a new one. When all was said and done, the repair and the part "kit" ended up costing me $359. As the Service Center was only about 15 miles from me, I drove the printer there and saved the two-way shipping (I hate to think what that would have cost me. Instead, it is integrated into a larger part and repair kit that must be purchased as a unit (about $185 for this part and kit). Unfortunately, Epson does not offer a new tiny valve part to fix this.

how to install epson 3880 printer mac

Apparently, it is a very common issue with the 3880 printer. I was told that there is a tiny valve that allows the printer to switch from Matt Black ink to Gloss Black ink. Having now gone through about 30% of the new ink that I just spent $499 on, I decided to give the closest Epson Service Center a call. So, I bought the Piezo kit ($25-$29) and tried that a couple of times.

HOW TO INSTALL EPSON 3880 PRINTER MAC HOW TO

Further Goggling led to U-Tube videos on how to manually clean the 3880 with Piezo Flush Print Head Cleaning Solution. That didn't cure the problem so, I set the "deep-clean" function into motion (which waists a tremendous amount of ink). This led me to using the light-cleaning function of the printer. So, I Goggled the issue, as well as read through the Owner Manual. Now, I began getting a thick sort of square grid pattern of black ink across my prints. That just seemed to make the situation worse. And, as they were all getting fairly low, I splurged, and replaced all nine of them. At first I thought that my cartridges needed replacement, as it had been some time since I had bought new ones. Then, about a month ago, it started leaving thick lines of black ink on some of my prints. For 5 years, my 3880 delivered beautiful print after beautiful print, without issue.

how to install epson 3880 printer mac

I thought it may be of interest to relate my experience.

HOW TO INSTALL EPSON 3880 PRINTER MAC PRO

I don't know if anyone is interested in cleaning or repairing their aging Epson Stylus Pro 3880 but, I just went through the process.











How to install epson 3880 printer mac